Go To Top

AERB was established on 15th Nov 1983 with the mission to ensure that the use of ionizing radiation and nuclear energy in India does not cause unacceptable impact on the health of workers and members of the public and on the environment. AERB celebrated its silver jubilee year from November 2007 to November 2008. To mark the beginning of the silver jubilee year, a function was organized on November 23, 2007. Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, AEC was the Chief Guest. Apart from the addresses by the luminaries, the "AERB Code of Ethics" and a "Monograph on Probabilistic Safety Assessment" prepared by AERB staff were released on this occasion. Various events were planned as part of silver jubilee year celebration. The silver jubilee year celebration ended with organisation of the IAEA International Conference on Topical Issues in Nuclear Installation Safety, during Nov. 17-21, 2008. A book on historical aspects of AERB has been released on the Silver Jubilee Day. Following are the links to the chapters in the Silver Jubilee Book.

Click here for full version of the AERB Silver Jubilee Book [4.59 MB]

: Foreword
: Preface
: Contents
Chapter 1 : Regulatory Framework: Early Years
Chapter 2 : Setting up of AERB
Chapter 3 : Safety Review of BARC Facilities
Chapter 4 : PHWR Based Nuclear Power Projects
Chapter 5 : Kudankulam Nuclear Power Project
Chapter 6 : IGCAR Facilities
Chapter 7 : Fuel Cycle Projects
Chapter 8 : Safety Review of Operating Nuclear Facilities
  : Photographs
Chapter 9 : Application of Radiation in Medicine, Industry and Research
Chapter 10 : Evolution of Industrial Safety Regulation
Chapter 11 : Development of Regulatory Documents
Chapter 12 : Initiatives on Safety Research
Chapter 13 : International Co-operation
Chapter 14 : Infrastructure and Human Resource Development
  : Photographs
Appendix: : Messages and excerpts of speeches by Chairman, AEC, Chairman, AERB, former Chairmen AERB and former Vice-Chairmen/Chairmen, SARCOP, AERB for Silver Jubilee year celebrations
: Profiles
: Board Members
: Chairmen of Apex Committees
: Directors/Heads of Technical Divisions
: About the Editors