Go To Top
Advisory Committee for Project Safety Review of Fast Reactor Fuel Cycle Facility and Demonstration Fuel Reprocessing Plant, IGCAR, Kalpakkam
Re-constitution Order No.: CH/AERB/FRFCF/2015/3161 Dated. September 11, 2015

  Shri R.K. Garg Chairman Former Chairman & MD, IREL  
  Shri V.K. Raina Vice-Chairman Former Director, Reactor Group, BARC  
  Shri S. Duraisamy Member Former Vice-chairman, AERB  
  Shri P.B. Kulkarni Member Former Director, ESG, BARC  
  Shri S. D. Mishra Member Former Director, NRG, BARC  
  Shri H.S. Kamath Member Former Director, NFG, BARC  
  Shri K.J Vakharwala Member Former Director, NPSD, AERB  
  Shri T.N. Krishnamurthy Member Former Head, HSD, AERB  
  Dr. Nalini Bhat Member Advisor, MOEF, New Delhi  
  Prof. Shyam Asolekar Member CESE, IIT, Mumbai  
  Shri P.V. Kumar Member Project Director, FRFCF, IGCAR  
  Shri D.K. Shukla Member Executive Director, AERB  
  Shri C.S. Varghese Member-Secretary Head, NPSD, AERBSend mail  
  Shri S.K. Ghosh Permanent Invitee NPSD, AERB  


  • The Committee will review the recommendations of the Site Evaluation Committee and Project Design Safety Committee of FRFCF and recommend to Chairman AERB, for siting, construction, commissioning and commencement of operation of the Fast Reactor Fuel Cycle Facility, Kalpakkam. It will also review the recommendations of PDSC-DFRP and make appropriate recommendations to AERB for the various stages of DFRP.

  • It will review relevant safety related documents for these projects and recommend authorisation for the various stages of the Project as per the AERB Safety Guide "Consenting Process Nuclear Fuel Cycle Facilities and Related Industrial Facilities other than NPPs and Research Reactors" (AERB/NF/SG/G2).

  • The Committee will also make appropriate recommendations on safety issues, both generic and specific concerning these projects, which are referred to it by AERB.

  • The Committee may co-opt other specialists, as considered necessary.