Shri S. Duraisamy takes charge as Vice-chairman, AERB and Chairman, SARCOP



Shri S. Duraisamy has taken charge as Vice-chairman, AERB and Chairman, SARCOP with effect from August 1, 2012, consequent to the retirement of Shri S.K. Chande.

Shri Duraisamy, an Electrical and Electronics Engineer joined the Department of Atomic Energy, in the year 1975, after graduating from 18th Batch of BARC Training School. He

started his career as an Operation Engineer in the research reactor Cirus at Trombay. He was subsequently involved in the commissioning of the high flux research reactor Dhruva and later was heading the Reactor Operation Division and was responsible for safe and efficient operation of the research reactors at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Trombay. He was a member of IAEA Technical Working Group on Research Reactor and also has undertaken expert missions for IAEA in the areas of research reactor. For more than a decade, Shri Duraisamy was associated with the design, commissioning and operational safety review of the Pressurized Heavy Water Reactors (PHWRs) and Fast Breeder Reactors (FBRs) and providing technical support to AERB.

Shri Duraisamy joined AERB in August 2011 as Director, Operating Plants Safety Division, and was responsible for; assessment of safety of operating NPPs & research reactors, regulatory activities related to renewal of their licence, conduct of periodical inspection of NPPs, preparation/revision of regulatory documents. He was a member of SARCOP and is designated as Chairman, SARCOP and Vice Chairman, AERB with effect from August 1, 2012. He is the national contact point for Convention on Nuclear Safety and CANDU Senior Regulator's Forum.