## 26<sup>th</sup> DAE Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet at VECC, Kolkata during November 16 – 18, 2009

The 26<sup>th</sup> DAE Safety & Occupational Health Professionals Meet was jointly organized by Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Mumbai and Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC), Kolkata at Auditorium of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics Centre (SINP), Kolkata during November 16 – 18, 2009. The theme for this year's three day Meet was "Cryogenic Safety, Electrical Safety & Ergonomics at Workplace". One important feature of this year's meet was that this was the first time when the DAE aided institutes were participating.

Dr. R.K. Bhandari, Director, VECC welcomed all the delegates. Shri R. Bhattacharya, Director, IPSD, AERB briefed about the important milestones of the Meet and the highlights of this year's meet. Two booklets were released during this meet. The one on "Cryogenic Safety & Electrical Safety" was released by Prof. Bikash Sinha, Former Director, VECC & SINP and the other on "Major Unusual Occurrences" was released by Shri S. K. Chande, Vice Chairman, AERB. Like every year this year too, the Green Site Awards, which consider various factors like effective site area, efforts taken to improve the greenery etc, were presented. The winners of this year's Green Site Awards were IREL, Manavalakurichi & Kakrapara Atomic Power Station. Shri Chande in his presidential address thanked Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary, DAE for his long association with this meet. He enumerated the initiatives taken by AERB to improve the industrial safety standards in DAE units. Dr. Anil Kakodkar, distributed the prizes for Logo Competition, released the proceedings of the Meet and delivered the Inaugural Address. He congratulated the winners of the green site award & appreciated KAPS for getting the certificate from WANO team for excellent operational performance. He praised AERB for paying the required attention to safety in the industrial domain at a time when the expansion programme is going on in full swing in almost all DAE units.

One of the major highlights of this year's meet was that the Dr. S.S.Ramaswamy memorial endowment lecture was delivered by Dr. Philippe Lebrun, CERN (European Organization for Nuclear Research), Geneva on 'Engineering Science for Cryogenic Safety'. Dr. Lebrun also inaugurated the exhibition of safety appliances demonstrated by various companies.

Shri M.S.R. Sarma, former Chairman SARCOP had passed away just a month before this meet. Shri R. Bhattacharya in the obituary to Shri Sarma recollected his immense contributions to the field of nuclear and industrial safety. One minute silence was observed by all the safety professionals as a tribute to the First Captain of the Flagship of the Indian PHWR Fleet.

The inaugural session was followed by three technical sessions on "Cryogenic Safety", "Electrical Safety" and "Ergonomics at Workplace". Each of these technical sessions had three invited lectures delivered by renowned experts from DAE as well non-DAE facilities.

On the second day, there were presentations from various participants on Serious and Near Miss Accident cases, Safety in Handling of Cryogenic Substances, Regulatory Aspects, Electrical Safety Aspects, Regulatory Requirements, Experiences in Testing & Maintenance of Material Handling Equipment and Occupational Health. In addition, there was a poster session by Tradesman/Supervisors on Innovative Measures taken to make "Safe" the Unsafe Jobs, Conditions, and Equipment. On the third day, there were presentations from AERB and various DAE units such as NPCIL, IREL, HWB, ECIL, BRIT, NFC etc on 'Behavioral based Safety Approaches'.

The meet was concluded by a Valedictory Session where in prizes for Posters, Cartoon, Slogan Competition among DAE Employees were distributed and the feed back received from various participants were reviewed. It was decided to hold the next year's meet at NFC, Hyderabad with 'chemical safety and chemical waste management' as one of its theme.