## **INDUSTRIAL SAFETY AWARD FUNCTION FOR THE YEAR 2008**

Atomic Energy Regulatory Board is administering the provisions of the Factories Act, 1948 in the Units of Department of Atomic Energy under its purview. In order to promote industrial safety in DAE units, AERB constituted the Industrial Safety Award Scheme in 1992. The seventeenth Industrial

Safety Award Function for the year 2008 was organized on March 6, 2009 at Niyamak Bhavan, AERB. Shri Apurba Saha, Executive Director and Asset Manager, Mumbai High, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) was the Chief Guest of the Function. Dignitaries from BARC, NPCIL, HWB and other DAE units were also present along with staff of AERB.





Shri R. Bhattacharya, Head, Industrial Plants Safety Division anchored the event. In his opening remarks, he stated that many of the DAE units have achieved 'the zero accident status' and suggested that it is now time to look 'beyond zero accidents'.



Shri S. K. Chande, in his Welcome Address briefed the audience on the categorization of the units into four categories depending on the hazards involved and presented the computational criteria for evaluating the winners of the Industrial Safety Award. In a brief presentation, he highlighted the industrial safety statistics of the various DAE units. He brought out

that although much of our as well as plant management's attention have been on the main plant buildings, the peripheral buildings were not given due emphasis. This has led to few untoward accidents in the recent times. He stressed that unlike nuclear and radiation safety where the hazard reduces as one moves away from the main plant building, industrial hazards like work at height etc are equally important even to the farthest of the structures. He announced the winners of the Industrial Safety Award in each of the four category.

GROUP	GROUP TITLE	WINNER UNITS
I	Construction Units	Kaiga Generating Station 3 & 4
П	Production Units ( NPPs & HWPs )	Heavy Water Plant – Manuguru & Madras Atomic Power Station
Ш	Production Units (Others)	Nuclear Fuel Complex (Non-radioactive Group)
IV	Research Units /	Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research
	Other Low Risk Units	

Shri S.K. Chande made a special mention of IGCAR (which had scored the least safety marks in the year 2006) for their efforts put in to improve upon the neglected areas and for winning the award this year.



Shri S. K. Sharma, Chairman AERB released the compendium on Industrial Safety Statistics of DAE units for the year 2008. He once again welcomed all and congratulated the winners of the unit.



He applauded the industrial safety record of DAE units which is at par with international standards. He however remarked that the one or two spurious incidents are like black spots on this otherwise remarkable record and despite the efforts taken to prevent these incidents, they still occur. Hence, there

is something missing somewhere. Drawing analogy to the nuclear safety, he suggested that as we evaluate the core damage frequency, postulated initiating events for nuclear safety we must think upon likewise parameters for industrial safety as well. He strongly emphasized on the availability of laid down procedures and strict adherence to them. He then highlighted the importance of supervision and training. He remarked that human beings are highly amenable to training, irrespective of the cultural background.



Shri Apurba Saha, Chief Guest of the function distributed the Industrial Safety Awards to the winners. In his address Shri Saha brought out the industrial safety hazards prevalent in nuclear industry vis-à-vis in the oil exploration sector. He drew analogy with the applicable regulations in both the sectors. He

stated that even in oil sector, radiation sources is used for oil well logging etc and hence, said there is awareness on some aspects of radiation safety in oil exploration industries as well. His allusion to the fire incident at Mumbai High of 2005 was noteworthy. He highlighted the importance of trained manpower which helped in rescuing the lives of affected personnel. This incident had resulted in developing detailed procedures for emergency scenarios. He also stressed upon the reporting of near miss events by the units such that the knowledge can be disseminated among other units and can prevent occurrence of major accidents.



KGS 3 & 4

HWP – Manuguru



**IGCAR** 





MAPS NFC



## Winner Units Receiving the Industrial Safety Award-2008

There were presentations from the award winning units on the innovative measures adopted for improving the industrial safety in their units. The function concluded with vote of thanks presented by Shri R. Bhattacharya, Head, IPSD, AERB.