INDUSTRIAL & FIRE SAFETY AWARD FUNCTION FOR THE YEAR 2010

In order to promote industrial and fire safety in the units of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), AERB constituted the Industrial & Fire Safety Award Scheme in 1992 and 1993 respectively. The Industrial and Fire Safety Award Function for the year 2010 was held on April 19, 2011 at Niyamak Bhavan, AERB.

Shri G.M.E.K. Raj, Director General, Directorate General Factory Advice, Service and Labour Institutes (DGFASLI) was the Chief Guest of the Function. Chief Executive of NFC, Chairman & Chief Executive of HWB, Director (Operations), NPCIL, senior officers from BARC, NPCIL, HWB, IREL, VECC and other DAE units, Chairman, Vice Chairman & Directors/Heads of Divisions of AERB were also present along with the staff of AERB.

Shri R. Bhattacharya, Secretary, AERB & Director, IPSD & ITSD welcomed the gathering. He briefed the audience on the categorization of the units depending on the hazards involved and presented the computational criteria for evaluating the winners of the Industrial and Fire Safety Award. In a brief presentation, he highlighted the industrial and fire safety statistics of the various DAE units.

Shri S.S. Bajaj, Chairman AERB in his presidential address expressed concern over the serious accidents taking place at the construction sites of DAE. He informed the audience on some of the useful suggestions made during the last month's Discussion Meet on 'Challenges and Strategies in Industrial Safety at DAE Construction Sites' which include training and certification of workers, consideration during design stage w.r.t execution of construction jobs, regular supervision and commitment of line management, effective coordination between mega contractor/sub contractor with departmental staff, effectiveness of job hazard analysis and imposing penalty. He then announced the winners of the Industrial and Fire Safety Awards for the year 2010.

INDUSTRIAL SAFETY AWARD		
GROUP	GROUP TITLE	WINNER UNITS
I	Construction Units	No Award
11	Production Units (NPPs & HWPs)	Heavy Water Plant-Manuguru Tarapur Atomic Power Station 3&4
III	Production Units (Others)	Nuclear Fuel Complex (radioactive plants), Hyderabad
IV	Research Units / Other Low Risk Units	Indian Rare Earths Ltd. (OSCOM – Thorium Plant)

FIRE SAFETY AWARD		
I	Operating NPPs &	Heavy Water Plant (Kota)
	High Risk Units	Madras Atomic Power Station
П	Construction Projects &	Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre
	Low Risk Units	(Kolkata)

Shri G.M.E.K. Raj, Chief Guest of the function distributed the Industrial & Fire Safety Awards to the winners and released the compendium on Industrial and Fire Safety Statistics. In his address Shri Raj applauded the computation criteria of the awards adopted by AERB and the detailed analysis carried out in the compendium. He informed about the National Safety Policy, declared by Hon'ble Finance Minister of India, in 2009 and the formation of National Innovation Cell by Secretary, Ministry of Labour wherein all industries can share their safe practices. He also re-emphasized on the importance of supervision and bringing to the notice of top management of any unsafe condition prevailing at the site, reporting of near misses and risk assessment in industries. Shri Raj once again congratulated the winners and stressed that continuous and sustained efforts as well as rigorous and vigilant approach is required to maintain the high safety performance. He also urged other units to compete so as to get awards in the coming years.

There were presentations from the award winning units on the measures adopted for improving the industrial safety in their units. The function concluded with vote of thanks presented by Shri K. Ramprasad, Scientific Officer of Industrial Plants Safety Division of AERB.