FIRE SAFETY AWARD FUNCTION FOR THE YEAR 2008

Atomic Energy Regulatory Board is administering the provisions of the Factories Act, 1948 in the Units of Department of Atomic Energy under its purview. In order to promote fire safety in DAE units, AERB constituted the Fire Safety Award Scheme in 1993. The Fire Safety Award Function for the year 2008 was organized on April 17, 2009 at Niyamak Bhavan, AERB. Shri P. S. Bhargava, Executive Director, Mumbai Refinery, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, Mumbai was the Chief Guest of the Function. Dignitaries from BARC, NPCIL, HWB, NFC and other DAE units were also present along with staff of AERB.



Shri S.K. Chande, Vice-Chairman, AERB

Shri S. K. Chande, Vice Chairman, AERB, in his Welcome Address briefed the audience on the categorization of the DAE units into two categories depending on the fire risk involved and presented the computational criteria for evaluating the winners of the Fire Safety Award. In a brief presentation, he highlighted the fire safety statistics of the various DAE units for the year 2008. He highlighted the two medium fire incidences and also presented the suggestions of the fire safety award review committee. He announced the winners of the Fire Safety Award in each of the two categories.

GROUP	GROUP TITLE	WINNER UNITS
I	Operating NPPs & High Risk Units	Tarapur Atomic Power Station 1&2 & Nuclear Fuel Complex, Hyderabad
11	Production Units (NPPs & HWPs)	Kaiga Generating Station 3 & 4



Shri S.K. Sharma Chairman, AERB

Shri S. K. Sharma, Chairman AERB once again welcomed all and congratulated the winners of the unit. He applauded the fire safety record of DAE units. He stressed on the need to have a fire test facility for validation of codes and the importance of fire probabilistic safety assessment. In view of very low fire occurrences, he suggested that fire incidences at other reactors of the world or in chemical industries may be considered for carrying out the assessment. He also stated that most of our reactors are getting old and hence the ageing management should also consider the fire safety aspects such as whether the insulation of the cables are intact etc. He congratulated the winners of the fire safety award and all other DAE units for their remarkable performance with respect to fire safety.



Shri P. S. Bhargava Executive Director (HS&E), BPCL

Shri P. S. Bhargava, Chief Guest of the function distributed the Fire Safety Awards to the winners. In his address Shri Bhargava brought out the fire safety hazards prevalent in oil refinery. He elaborated on the applicable regulations governing the oil refinery. He stated that the population surrounding the oil refinery has grown several fold and hence, protection of the surrounding population is of major concern now. He further explained the safety features adopted at Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, the importance of training, work permit systems etc and illustrated few examples of innovative measures adopted for fire safety as well as in construction safety. The address was followed by an interactive feedback session.

There were presentations from the award winning units on the measures adopted for improving the fire safety in their units.

Shri R. Bhattacharya, Head, IPSD, AERB informed about the regulatory review process followed at AERB w.r.t fire safety. He presented some statistics on the number of fire incidents that took place in India last year and the damage to property and life. The function concluded with vote of thanks presented by Shri Bhattacharya.



The Winner - TAPS 1&2



The Winner - NFC, Hyderabad



The Winner - KGS 3&4