## ABOUT THE EDITORS

## A. R. Sundararajan

A.R. Sundararajan, after graduating from 8th batch of BARC Training School joined as Health Physicist in Plutonium Plant at Trombay. Later he moved to IGCAR, Kalpakkam where as Head, Health and Safety Division was responsible for organizing radiation protection surveillance for the research centre. He was instrumental in starting a strong research group on internal dosimetry, atmospheric studies and aerosol research. He was Associate Director of Safety Research and Health Physics Group, IGCAR during 1997-98. Later he moved to AERB as Head Radiological Safety Division (RSD). He was associated with more than 20 AERB Safety Review Committees. He was entrusted with the responsibility of setting up Safety Research Institute (SRI) at Kalpakkam. After his retirement in 2003 as Director RSD and Director SRI, he continues to serve in many of the committees of AERB. His areas of special interests include Safety of Fuel Reprocessing, Fast Reactor Safety and Environmental Safety of Nuclear Facilities.

## K. S. Parthasarathy

K.S.Parthasarathy joined the erstwhile Directorate of Radiation Protection (DRP), Atomic Energy Establishment Trombay (AEET) in 1964 after graduating from the 7th Batch of AEET Training School. He obtained his Ph.D in medical physics from the University of Leeds, UK. He served the Division of Radiological Protection, BARC in various capacities before joining the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) in 1984. He was Secretary of AERB from 1987-2004 and Director, Information and Technical Services Division. He played a major role in setting up the Directorate of Radiation Safety in Kerala, the first effort to decentralize regulatory control of medical x-ray installations. He assisted AERB in formulating its polices for funding safety research projects and in drafting safety directives to enforce dose limits to workers. His efforts helped the removal of potentially hazardous radium from Indian hospitals. He edited the AERB newsletter from 1985-2000. His articles on safetyrelated topics appeared in over 180 publications including the Hindu, the Tribune, and the PTI Feature. He is currently Raja Ramanna Fellow in the Department of Atomic Energy.

## S. Sinha

S. Sinha, after completing one year orientation course in Radiation Protection and Environmental Sciences from the 47th batch of BARC Training School, joined AERB in the year 2004. Initially he was involved with the review of operational health physics, waste management and emergency preparedness of operating nuclear power plants. From 2005 onwards in IPSD, he is participating in the safety review with respect to radiological safety, waste management and environmental safety of front end fuel cycle facilities namely uranium mining and processing facilities, thorium mining and processing facilities and fuel fabrication facilities, beach sand minerals facilities and DAE accelerators facilities at VECC and RRCAT. He is the member-secretary of VECC-RRCAT Safety Committee and is associated with the Beach Sand Minerals Safety Committee. In addition, he is involved in the regulatory review of NORM industries such as rock phosphate processing fertilizer plants and commercial applications of phosphogypsum. He is a member of AERB Newsletter editorial committee.

Published by Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Anushaktinagar, Mumbai - 400 094
Designed and printed at M/s Printania Offset Pvt. Ltd., Matunga, Mumbai - 400 019.