Go To Top
Description Links to Forms
Medical use of x-rays for diagnosis and treatment has proven to be immensely beneficial to the society at large. However, unsafe use of x-ray radiation has health risks associated with it and hence it is required that proper care is exercised throughout the life cycle of the equipment i.e. from manufacture, supply, installation, use, maintenance, servicing and ultimately decommissioning.

The Atomic Energy (Radiation Protection) Rules, 2004 [AE(RP)R-2004], promulgated under the Atomic Energy Act, 1962, provides the legal framework for the safe handling of radiation generating equipment. As per Rule 3 of AE(RP)R-2004 it is mandatory for all the manufacturers/Suppliers/Users to obtain requisite Licence from AERB for carrying out any of above activities.

To facilitate online submission of applications for various regulatory consents, AERB has launched e-governance application e-LORA (e-Licensing of Radiation Applications) System. All the Manufacturers/Suppliers/Service Agencies and X-ray institutions are required to obtain all the requisite consents from AERB through e-LORA. Detailed guidelines for all the stakeholders are available on homepage of eLORA.

AERB has taken serious note of unauthorized manufacture, supply and usage of medical diagnostic x-ray equipment without possessing statutory Licence from AERB and issued a ‘WARNING’ that facilities of the said stakeholders found operating in such contravention hereafter shall be sealed without further notice.

Public at large is also requested to visit only AERB licenced facilities in the interest of their own safety. All radiation facilities are required to display the copy of AERB Licence at the conspicuous place at their facility.

Considering the large number of wide spread x-ray facilities, AERB has initiated steps for formation of Directorate of Radiation Safety (DRS) under Health and Family Welfare Department of every state, to carry out regulatory inspections of x-ray facilities (of the state) and support the utilities in obtaining licence/registration from AERB. First such DRS was formed in Kerala in 1999, as on today the DRS are established and functioning in states of Kerala, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Tripura and Punjab.

Besides for decentralization of regulatory activities for effective implementation of regulations in the country, AERB has established its Regional Regulatory Centers (RRC) at Chennai , Kolkata and Delhi respectively for southern, Eastern  and northern regional regulatory center. 

Contact details:

Dr. A.U. Sonawane,
Head, RSD







These documents can be purchased from Administrative Officer, Atomic Energy Regulatory Board, Niyamak Bhavan, Anushaktinagar, Mumbai - 400 094.